Open-Contemporary Art Center (OCAC) is an artist-run space founded in Banciao (Taiwan) in 2001. Our tasks include curation, interdisciplinary exchange, art forum, study and publication. We believe that contemporary art permeates into our lives in a wider range than ever. People need a significant clue of “what is contemporary art?” with a full imagination. We look at this and attempt to dedicated ourselves to create diverse forms of which the public interacted with contemporary art.

Curation

OCAC was first established by a group of artist-curators to illustrate our fundamental philosophy in art. We as artists feel most obligated to (or capable of) develop a theory of practice. Reflecting on art production and contemporary society, our curatorial purpose has always been discovering and putting forwards new perspectives. In the process of thinking carefully on Taiwan’s (art) feedback to the world in terms of art production, we examine our contemporary art under the influence of globalization in art.

Art/Artist Studio

Artist studio today may be the most openly liberal space among others. OCAC stands for a public space and a union of artists, which cannot be separate. We expect to do more than just simple production, storage and exhibitions in the art space, but certainly to strive to generate more conversation, radical thoughts and guerrilla activities. Through artists’ practice in the space, we attempt to bring up a proposal for living against capitalism in the contemporary society.

Community Dialogue

With a trend of the public involved art, contemporary art becomes vital and almost open to any non-art fields. OCAC is committed to opening up a dialogue of new possibilities and exchange. We continue to promote art in different communities via artists’ active participation and diverse practices in culture, which bring us to explore art’s influence on people in the reality.

CURRENT DIRECTOR:
CHEN CHIA JEN

MANAGER: CHEN CHIA-IAN

PROJECT MANAGER:HOU YU WEI

 

See OCAC at night

SPACE SPONSOR BY:
MINISTRY OF CULTURE

WEBSITE SPONSOR BY:
NATIONAL CULTURE AND
ART FOUNDATAION

打開-當代藝術工作站成立於2001年的板橋(台灣),是由藝術家自主營運的空間。 我們的工作包括了藝術策展、跨領域交流、研究與出版,以及提供可行的資源。 我們相信,今天藝術比過往任何時刻都來得廣泛並深入觸及了我們的生活(命),人們需要更豐富也更關鍵的提示:當代藝術何為?我們試圖著眼於此,專注在藝術與公眾之間提供更多樣的交涉模式。

策展

打開-當代最初由一批獨立策展的藝術家組成,這說明了我們基本的藝術哲學。我們感到藝術家比任何人都有義務(或能力)去發展一種創作的實踐理論,藉由反思創作與當代社會的接合,我們試著提出原創並可供討論的觀點。我們所關注的是,在全球化的藝術情境下,台灣(的藝術)如何反饋與再生產,進而在此過程中審視自己的「當代」。

藝術(家)空間

今日藝術家的工作室仍可能是最有解放性格的空間。打開-當代的建立不僅是關於展覽或倉儲,而可能更多是談話、新事物、或者游擊戰;它作為公共空間與藝術家群體乃是一體兩面,也是相互解釋的。我們的理念是通過對工作空間的開拓,以討論一種扺禦資本掛帥的當代生存提案。

社群與對話

當代藝術的無窮活力來自它日趨濃厚的公眾性質,並向幾乎所有的非藝術領域開放。因而,製造思想交流的場景也即是打開-當代的工作目標之一。我們頻繁推動藝術家在不同社群間的對話,透過主動參與多樣的文化實踐,探戡藝術在現實世界中的作為與它對人們的驅動力。

OCAC站長:
陳嘉壬

行政經理:陳佳蘭

專案經理:侯宇薇

See OCAC at night

SPACE SPONSOR BY:
MINISTRY OF CULTURE

WEBSITE SPONSOR BY:
NATIONAL CULTURE AND
ART FOUNDATAION